top of page


  • Writer's pictureGrammar

Academics: Grammar students celebrate their academic achievements

Updated: Aug 14, 2019

The graduating class of 2019 and students from the senior school came together to celebrate their achievements for this school year. The ceremony took place on Friday, June 14th, 2019 at Saint Mary's University in the McNally Theatre. 

The ceremony began with an original song performed by Maura Whitman, followed by remarks and award presentations from Head of Senior School Mr. Matthew Moffatt, Director of Academics & University Guidance Ms. Laura Brock, and Headmaster Mr. Steven Laffoley'84. 

Students were presented with a book, plaque, or tuition award for their accomplishments.

Major Awards:

The University of Toronto National Book Award Program is intended to recognize and reward the very best Canadian secondary school students, regardless of which university those students choose to attend. These are students who demonstrate superior academic performance, original and creative thought, and exceptional achievement in a broad context. They excel in academic pursuits, demonstrate enthusiasm for intellectual exploration and have a strong involvement in the lives of their schools and communities. This year Tatiana El-Rabahi from Grade 12 received this prestigious award and Irene Li from Grade 11 was nominated for the 2020 award.

A student from Grades 10, 11, or12 who demonstrates an excellence in debating is selected for the Debating Society Award. This year Matthew Farrell received this award. Matthew will be competing in the National Debating Championships in Thailand this summer and is in the running for the National Debating Championships for 2020.

Hala Abou-Nahya received the Global Awareness Award for demonstrating perseverance, preparedness, and participation in globally-focused student events.

The Headmaster's Exemplary Award was presented to Andrea Jacob and Katie Blunden. Awarded each year to students who have demonstrated to the Headmaster “exemplary service to the broader community.” Both Andrea and Katie will receive a certificate acknowledging their service and their names will be inscribed on an Honour Board in the front hall of the Tower Road Campus.

The CAS (Creativity, Activity, Service) award went to Sasha Hirsch. This award enables students to enhance their personal and interpersonal development as well as their social and civic development, through experiential learning, lending an important counterbalance to the academic requirements of the IB Diploma Programme.

The Castalia Award recognizes students in Prep, Middle, and Senior Schools for excellence in music, visual arts, and the performing arts. Katie Blunden received the award for demonstrating excellence in visual arts. Maura Whitman received the award for performance in music, Olivia DeJager received the award for demonstrating talent in theatre and Tatiana El-Rabahi received the award for demonstrating an aptitude in film.

One of the Founders' awards, the John Szerb Leadership Award went to Ethan Marshall-Harris. The award is given to a student in Grade 11 who, in the judgment of teachers, has made a significant contribution in a leadership capacity over the previous three years.

The other Founders' award, the Elliott Spafford Award went to Grade 10 student, Sophie Smith Steward and Grade 11 student Lydell Husbands for demonstrating a talent in athletics, commitment to the values of the school and being of exemplary character. Lieutenant Governor’s Medals were awarded to Madison Holdsworth and Jonah Crowther. This award is presented to students who demonstrate qualities of leadership and service in the school and community and commendable performance in academic courses.

The Governor General’s Medal was awarded to Talha Syed for high academic achievement.

Award of Merit Medals were given to Sasha Hirsch, Julian Oxner, and Daniel Neira. This award is presented to Grade 12 students with high academic achievement.

The Nancy Moir Hawkins Memorial Award was given to Grade 12 student Maddie Gillis who made an overall outstanding contribution to the school.

The Birks Medal was presented to Katie Blunden for outstanding leadership in student affairs. This medal is presented each year to a student from the graduating class.

The Queen Elizabeth II Medal is also presented each year to a senior student. This year Tatiana El- Rabahi was honored with this award. Throughout high school, Tatiana has demonstrated superior achievement in school studies, maintained an outstanding record in school and community involvement and satisfied the requirements for a Nova Scotia High School Completion Certificate.

IB awards were given to three students from the graduating class. Lauren Jollimore-Behie received the IB Industry Award, Onika Drabble received the IB Profile Learner Award, and Thomas Adamo-Schmidt received the IB Spirit Award.

Ian Keefe from the senior class was presented with the Walter Leslie Shield. This award is Grammar's most prestigious award and is given to a senior student who demonstrates all around excellence in academics, athletics and leadership.




bottom of page